Reviews

Lovely village - Rating 5/5

Nice and caring staff. Simple but cute rooms with extra soft bed.

Response

Hope to see you againKInd regardsPaul and the Team

Reviewer:Vida M | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely little English Country Pub - Rating 4/5

1 night only, on the outskirts of a picture postcard village of thatched roof cottages the pub fits in well. Cosy, homely, full of champagne bottles, and with an obvious rich history and connection to Newbury races given the signed photos from Jocky’s in the Hall way. Room 6 was similar, cosy, comfortable, and clean, a bit like staying away for the night at a favourite elderly relatives. The two upside down frames of flowers in the bathroom made me smile, I wonder how many other people have noticed? Didn’t have evening meal, but breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. Lovely touch of glass of orange & selection of cereals on your table on arrival to your table. All round, well worth the money, a lovely little find.

Response

Glad you noticed the art work!Thanks for taking the time to review us and I hope we can welcome you back to the Bell in the near futureKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Mark K | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Friendly, good value - Rating 4/5

All was fine. Room a little run down, but clean and warm. No complaints.

Response

Im glad you were comfyKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:James T | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Friendly, good value - Rating 4/5

All was fine. Room a little run down, but clean and warm. No complaints.

Reviewer:James T | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


our stay - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay, thank you very much.

Response

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell on your next visit to NewburyKInd RegardsPaul

Reviewer:Keith B | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Bell at Boxford - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay here. A very warm welcome, very helpful and friendly people.Tasty breakfast included in the price.

Response

I hope we can welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distant futureKind RegardsPaul and the Team

Reviewer:katherine J | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Good food very friendly - Rating 5/5

Arrived Thursday night, pub was quiet. Quick easy check in. Room large clean comfy bed.Went to the bar ordered beer and food.Lady explained that one item would take longer to cook as it all had to be cooked fresh. Yes it did but when it arrived well worth waiting for.Good full English breakfast.One slight down only 1 hand pull beer onWOULD GO BACK

Response

We normally have 3 real ales but in the very hot weather people are drinkingLagers rather than the Real Ales. Glad you enjoyed the food!Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Duncan R | Wed 25th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Peaceful and tired stay. - Rating 3/5

Very pleasant location. Quiet even though it was on a fairly busy B road. Love the layout of the building. Room a decent size. Shower quite tight. The whole building inside was in need of a spruce up. Host very friendly and welcoming. Cost of stay rather high for what was on offer. I guess you are paying for the location. In its day I'm sure it was a great place.

Response

Our maintenance /redec program is a little on the 4th bridge approach.. Its continuous! Hope to be able to welcome you back in the near futureKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Peter S | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely country pub in very peaceful surroundings.Warm and friendly welcome , great breakfast enjoyed our stay .

Response

Thanks for the great review. I hope we can welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distant futre! Could you put this review on Tripadvisr for us?Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Lynda D | Wed 18th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


weekend stay - Rating 4/5

I stay every year in the same period, this year I stayed with my 11 year old son. As always, I felt good, I thank all the staff very friendly to me. Thank you!

Response

We look forward to welcoming you back next year!Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Mario F | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Quaint but comfortable - Rating 4/5

We used to live locally, so we knew the location and chose the Bell when we needed to be in Newbury the following day. We were made very welcome and offered assistance with our bags. The room was a good size and we had everything we needed. The bijou bathroom would be something of a challenge for a larger-than-average sized person. The evening meal was very enjoyable and breakfast was according to our choice and also very good. We were surprised how quiet the place was and so we recommended the Bell for a restful night or two with good food and everything you need.

Response

It was a pleasure to have a brief chat!Hope to see you againKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Peter S | Fri 13th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Midweek stay - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful staff, nice room and excellent food ideal base for walking or just relaxing

Reviewer:Graham M | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Friendliest welcome - Rating 4/5

Thanks we felt so welcome.lovely food and ambience.

Reviewer:Diane R | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Good - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay experienced.

Reviewer:Mark B | Sat 26th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Feedback - Rating 5/5

Stop over on way to BournemouthBeautiful place and friendly

Response

Thanks for the great review! We really pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us.Kind regardsPaul & the Team

Reviewer:Tracey H | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely long weekend- Rating 5/5

We spent a few days here and really enjoyed it, the hotel staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The place has character and a nice place to stay, our room was clean and when we ate here the food was nicely presented and good quality inc breakfast , I would certainly recommend it

Response

Im so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welxome you back in the not too distant futureKind regardsPaul and the Team

Reviewer:David p | Sun 13th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Always excellent service - Rating 5/5

I will always use this hotel is so friendly and clean food is spot on

Response

Thank you for your comments. Really pleased to note that you enjoy the food! RegardsPaul & the Team

Reviewer:| Thu 3rd May 2018 | 6 months ago


good rest - Rating 5/5

Perfect appart from the noise of neighbours (it seems to have no insulation accoustic at all between the bedroom)

Response

OOOh! SOSorry you had noisy neighbours!Next time you book ask me for a quiet roomKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:christophe p | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 6 months ago


excellent - Rating 4/5

excellent stay. wonderful/comfortable hotel.

Response

We all look forward to being able to welcome you back soonKind regardsPaul and the Team

Reviewer:Shelley W | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Enjoyable 3 night stay - Rating 4/5

Ideal quiet Location on edge of pleasant village.Staff were friendly and helpful and food was very tasteful.We ate in every night the restaurant was open and our vegetarian diet was catered for very well.Room was comfortable with tea coffee and biscuits supplied.Full English breakfast was on offer.We look forward to returning soon.Ivan and David

Response

It was a pleasure to look after you both. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in hte near future!Kind regardsPaul and the Team

Reviewer:Ivan S | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


I can recommended - Rating 5/5

This hotel is nice,in quiet area.The room was comfortable.The staff are helpful,polite.The food was georgeous.

Response

I m pleased you enjoyed yur stay with us.....Esp the food! THanks so much for your commentsKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Eva B | Sat 6th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


HORSE RACING - Rating 5/5

GREAT LOCATION AND FRIENDLY STAFF

Response

Hope you won at the races See you back we hope soonKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:LAURENCE M | Sat 9th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable clean and very tidy. Good breakfast

Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Much appraciatedRegardsPaul

Reviewer:Christine H | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Weekend away - Rating 4/5

We arrived late evening and was meet with a warm welcome.The room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable.Breakfast was full English .

Response

We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next weekend awayKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Gillian B | Sun 8th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Eat Well! - Rating 4/5

Food was fab, as was the English beer, which we miss. The welcome was very friendly and warm, especially from George, the Golden Retriever. Very obliging staff when we needed to do some complicated taxi bookings.

Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us here at the Bell! Im glad we were able to help with the taxis & that you thought the Food was Fab!George sends a wag :)

Reviewer:Joanna Marsden E | Tue 3rd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Little tired. Calm an quiet - Rating 3/5

Quiet country pub. Rooms little tired especially the bathroom. Overpriced breakfast. Nice location

Response

Thanks for your review Our full English breakfast is only priced at 8.95. which I feel is very reasonable.Should you wish to stay with us again it is always worth booking a B&B rate directly through our web site where you will benefit from reduced rates as we dont have to pay commission to a Travel Agent. We are in the middle of a redecoration/upgrade at the moment so Im sure you will see some changes!KInd regardsPauL

Reviewer:Zuzana S | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

We stayed at The Bell for one night on our way back home from Cornwall. The Bell located on a cross roads, that said a fairly quiet one.The pub is old and quaint but is in need of a little updating and TLC. The room was adequate, the en suite was very small. Simple but clean.Evening meal was fine with a good choice and breakfast great. The staff we saw were very polite and helpful. Considering the prices we had paid for B and B the previous 2 nights I thought the price a little steep for what was on offer.

Response

Thanks for sharing your comments. Accommodation in Newbury for that weekend was fully booked throughout and reflects on the prices advertised. Next time you wish to stay please book direct with us as you would be given the best possible rate available and not an inflated one from a Travel agent! IWe are currently in the midsts of a redec/refurbishment program and would love to be able to welcome you back...Next year perhaps?Glad you enjoyed the food!!KindregardsPaul Lavis

Reviewer:Stephen R | Thu 21st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Not as usual. - Rating 3/5

'We hope that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.'I find it strange that this has not been asked when we left the Bell in the morning.Also after dinner no questions about how whe enjoyed the food. This was rather unusual. Portions were too small!

Response

Sorry you weren\'t asked in the morning. This is why we emailed you .Our Chilli weighs in at 1/2lb of pure beef mincenot including the savoury rice and the Lasagna is a whopping 12.4oz (350g). You have the option of adding \'sides\' if you wish... chips etc etc. Im glad to note that you have such a large appetite! Next time at the Bell try the 12oz Rib with fries Im sure you will enjoy.Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Jean-Pierre D | Fri 8th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed the night we stayed here, Staff attentive but not overly, Great Breakfast all i all would recommend. The fire alam at 1:00am was a bit of a shock but in the wake of the Grenfell I would rather be woken up for a false alarm than not be woken in the case of a real fireThanks again, if we are down this way again we would definately stay here again

Response

Thank you foryour 5* review. Its always nice to know that we are looking after our guests!Im sorry that our fire alarm system activated but it is here for our guests safety and I pleased to report that it was a fault alarm. Better to be safe than sorry though!I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Bell at some future dateKind regaRDSPaul

Reviewer:Robert P | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Bell at Boxford - Rating 5/5

stayed for two nights.Lovely Hotel and Pub. good food, comfy bed. Nothing too much trouble for Andre the Barman. Ideal if you are going Newbury races or just sightseeing.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and Im really pleased your found Andre to be so helpful. He blushed when he read your review :) We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distant futureKind RegardsPaul( and Andre, of course!)

Reviewer:James w | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Would definitely stay again- Rating 5/5

Warm friendly welcome . . Nothing too much trouble . Great service from Andre . The food was to die for .Great chilli and the best ever onion rings !! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely return

Response

Thanks for your great review and especially your mention of Andre. Im pleased we looked after you! Hope to be able to welcome you back in the note too distant futureKind Regards from Paul and the Team

Reviewer:Lesley S | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Greeted with a friendly smile.lovely little country pub.Bed was very comfy staff were fantasic.meals were lovely.Great little stop

Response

We\'re so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Inn. Hope to see you soon!Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Bruce J | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Relaxing in the country - Rating 4/5

Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast.

Response

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant futureKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Michele W | Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Country hotel - Rating 3/5

Country hotel with dated but comfortable room. bathroom very tired and in need of updating. Reasonable breakfast. Reasonable value for money. Quiet country location.

Response

Thanks for your review. Im please to report we are in the middle of a re dec program! Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and hope to see you again soonRgeardsPaul

Reviewer:virginia a | Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Picturesque but over priced- Rating 3/5

Picture perfect on the outside and on the first floor pub/restaurant. Our room was in serious need of remodeling. Very narrow bathroom. For the cost of the room we thought this was overpriced.

Response

Thanks for taking the time to review us. The cost of your room reflects the fact that you required an additional bed and that you booked through a rather expensive Travel agent. On your next visit please contact me directly at paul@bellatboxford.com when I can offer you or best rates and any special offers available. We are currently in the throws of a redec programme and I hope on your next visit you will see the changes.Kind regardsPaulKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Acel Dennis W | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfort with minor thoughts.- Rating 4/5

From the outset may I say that I thoroughly enjoyed my two nights at the Bell. The staff were very welcoming and I would definitely stay again when next in the area. May I make one or two observations. Room 4 was very cosy but the view of the outside yard was disappointing. It looked similar to a scrap yard and could have benefited from a couple of tubs of flowers to brighten it up. I do like a nice glass of red wine and was somewhat taken aback to find out it was kept in a cooler however scientific this cooler was meant to be. Red wine should always be kept out at room temperature. Finally having increased my stay from one night (Sunday) to include the Monday, I was surprised to find my rate upped for the second night by 50 percent. I had informed the Inn of my intention a month before in a phone call but was not told there would be an increase. Maybe this was naive of me. All this said, I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Paul, Helen and their team so many thanks.

Response

Thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in the near future.With regards to Wine Temperatures. The idea of Room temperature was quite correct in the 1800s. Nowadays with House insulation, double glazing, central heatingit isnt. Most Reds benefit from being slightly chilled The ideal serving temperature for many fine red wines is perhaps 14ºC to 18ºC, somewhat cooler than modern houses, although this was a common temperature indoors in centuries gone by! Many reds, unless stored somewhere cool, will benefit from half an hour in the refrigerator. This is particularly the case for Beaujolais and young Burgundy, as well as Pinot Noir from the New World. Good claret, Rhônes and other reds from warmer climes are generally fine at 16 - 18ºC.I do hope you will experiment a little as I\'m certain it will enhance your enjoymentKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Christopher J | Wed 2nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Very nice overnight. - Rating 5/5

Greeted warmly on arrival and shown promptly to room. Ate dinner at pub. Very nice meal. There were quite a large choice of food including daily specials on board. Being non smokers I was worried that our room overlooked the outside smoking area but there was noproblem at all. Breakfast was great. A small mistake on our bill was dealt with promptly and with apologies. We will book in again next time we are at the Races. Thankyou and Regards. Mike and Sue

Response

Thanks for your review and Im please that you enjoyed your brief stay with usKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Sue H | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay for Races - Rating 5/5

Greeted warmly on arrival and shown promptly to room. Ate dinner at pub. Very nice meal. There were quite a large choice of food including daily specials on board. Being non smokers I was worried that our room overlooked the outside smoking area but there was noproblem at all. Breakfast was great. A small mistake on our bill was dealt with promptly and with apologies. We will book in again next time we are at the Races.Staff and Owner were all pleasant, helpful nd friendly. Thankyou and Regards. Mike and Sue

Reviewer:Sue H | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Enjoyed, but tired decor - Rating 3/5

We did enjoy our stay. Unfortunately the hotel does not have twin beds! They put a z bed up which was far too low and intact if we lay on it we would have gone through it, not suitable for adults and especially aged persons with back problems! Which I expressed at time of booking. I would like to say though if you are ok with double beds and don't mind tired furniture, it is a lovely place to stay. Please Paul consider twin beds for us oldies. ooh by the way our dog Sandy had a wonderful time and really enjoyed his gift.

Response

Thanks for your review. We do have twin bedded rooms and I did explain to you when you made your enquiry, that they were already fully booked. As you wanted to stay at the Bell I told you that we could put an extra z bed into a double and I\\\'d do that at no extra chargecharge.I hope the next time you wish to stay with us you are able to book further in advance as we hate to disappoint. Give Sandy a tickle behind the ears for meKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Carol B | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Small, friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

Staff are very helpful & friendly.Double Rooms are a decent size with comfortable bed. Bathroom is a tight squeeze but you can't have everything! Food is good.

Response

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in the not too distant futureIm pleased you enjoyed your short visit to us and enjoyed our menusKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Patricia P | Thu 20th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Patrick Thornton - Rating 5/5

Room, food & surrounding countryside is very good.

Response

Thanks for your review. I hope we can welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distant future

Reviewer:Patrick T | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 4/5

Thank you once again for a memorable stay staff & George were fantastic we really looked forward to our first stay in England with you

Response

We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant futureRegardsPaul

Reviewer:James C | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


A lovely Country Inn - Rating 4/5

We stayed two nights at the Bell.We were with friends from Holland and Belgium.The staff and owners were very helpful and friendly.We had dogs with us, and they were also made very welcome.The rooms were very good as was the food. I would definitely stay there again

Response

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near futureKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Mrs. Deirdre F | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Our Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and hospitallity,such a lovely atmosphere,would recomend you to everyone i know and so dog freindlythanks Chris and Fiona Brown

Response

Thanks so much for this lovely review. It certainly made my morning!Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:christopher b | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Newbury Show - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, all facilities as expected and an excellent meal, what more could one want, dogs very happy !

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the important ones were comfyKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Gillian C | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Old World Charm - Rating 4/5

We had a very nice time here - old world charm and comfort.Lovely breakfast and atmosphere.Would love to return.

Response

IT WAS A PLEASE TO WELCOME YOU TO THE Inn. I hope you can return at a future date!Kind regardsPual

Reviewer:WilliamN | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, great setting, fantastic food.

Response

Thank you so much for your nice review. I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant futureKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Mr. Iain C | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Visit - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room, enjoyed my meal, friendly staff. Would stay again.

Response

We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to review usRegardsPaul

Reviewer:Julyan D | Tue 16th May 2017 | 1 year ago


A Real Gem - Rating 5/5

Often booking on the web is a lottery, you don't often win the lottery, with The Bell, Boxford, we did! Great atmosphere great food, would definitely recommend to friends.

Response

Thanks for your fun review! We all enjoyed reading it. Im pleased you enjoyed the Bell and I hope we can welcome you back in the near futureKind RegardsPaul & the team

Reviewer:John R | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Would recommend- Rating 3/5

Very relaxed atmosphere. Good friendly staff happy to help with any request. Only downside the place could have done with a good clean but not enough to stop me going there again. Lovely outside seating area and excellent food. Good location for walks.

Response

Thanks for the review and Im pleased you enjoyed your stay with usKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Miss. Claire T | Mon 1st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend stay- Rating 5/5

My partner an out dog stayed for 2 day and it was a fantastic ex experience . A very warm welcome for all . Staff friendly and very helpful . The room clean and well presented . We both would recommend this pub to all .

Response

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant futureKind regardsPaul and Helen

Reviewer:gary r | Mon 17th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Traditional English Pub/hotel/restaraunt - Rating 4/5

If you're looking for a nice quiet traditional English Pub with rooms and really good food then this is it. The owners are really friendly and the hotel is not part of one of the big chains. Parking for around 15 or 20 vehicles with no height restrictions.I'd imagine this place is amazing in summer as there's plenty of outside seating.

Response

Thanks for taking both the time and trouble to leave us a review!!Hope to see yu in the summer!!Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:MatthewH | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely country inn - Rating 4/5

I've stayed at the Bell at Boxford a few times over the past 12 months. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful. The hotel itself is a lovely country inn, but you can't/shouldn't expect the same facilities as you find in a large modern hotel...but that's part of it's charm! WiFi is good & it is free to use. The food is also very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Response

Thank you for taking both the time and trouble to review us. Its always a pleasure to welcom returning guestsKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Patricia P | Thu 19th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


A good night\'s stay at a country pub - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed the night. Welcomed by the landlord. Pub a little quiet, wonder if this is due to the limited English of the bar staff. Room good, bathroom a little tight. Food and service good.

Response

Thanks for the review and we;re glad you enjoyed your night with us. We are currently traimg bar staff and Im sure you will see a marked improvement on your next visit :) Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Eric O | Mon 2nd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


bell boxford stay - Rating 4/5

working in the area over the next few months, and will use this hotel again, could not do enough for you .staff very friendly. Room Warm and clean,

Response

We look forward towelcoming you back to the Bell. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write such a nice review!Paul

Reviewer:Nigel B | Sun 4th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Very Good small firendly hotel - Rating 4/5

Staff are lovely. Very warm & welcoming.Rooms are practical & tastefully decorated.(If you need to work, I would suggest booking a double room to ensure you have the space you need.) Bathrooms are tiny, but have what you need.Meals, both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, are excellent. Just be aware, if you are travelling on business, breakfast does not start until 7:30am.

Response

Let me know when you are next staying and I will book you a double for single occupancy!Thanks for taking the time to write your reviewKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia P | Thu 1st Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay in rural location - Rating 5/5

Lovely country pub, I enjoyed my stay very welcomingand kind people who host the property. Food was lovelyI will return for another stay. Thanks

Response

We look forward to welcoming you back to the BellKind regardsPaul And Helen

Reviewer:Sarah L | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Brilliant location to split journey to south coast - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for your hospitality it is always nice when we find somewhere that accepts dogs near the motorway. We will be keeping you on our radar for the future.

Reviewer:Faye L | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. Staff very friendly. Room very good. Both dinner and breakfast very good quality.Nice ale too.Wont hesitate to stay again

Response

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visitKind regardsPaul and Helen

Reviewer:Robert R | Thu 27th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


happy days - Rating 4/5

had a lovely time, great meal in the evening, a lovely bottle of wine to finish it off. staff really friendly and helpful , would stay again.

Response

Hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant futurekIND RGEARDSPaul, Helen and the team.

Reviewer:Diane P | Wed 26th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


usual lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Great food.Great Service.Regular users and they remember us.I even have the same room and they remember our preferred wine.

Response

It was good to see you again! Thanks for taking the time to review us!Kind regarsdsPaul and Helen

Reviewer:Janet B | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

We arrived late but were met with a most friendly welcome. Room and bed first class and so was the breakfast. We will come again.

Reviewer:John S | Sat 22nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent as usual - Rating 5/5

We stay here every year when exhibiting at Newbury Showground. Fantastic friendly service, comfortable rooms, great food and well kept beer!! Home from Home!!!!

Response

Great to see you again .. Lokking forward to next year!Kind regardsPaul and Helen

Reviewer:Lee A | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


great place - Rating 5/5

great place wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting newbury

Response

Thanks for a great review!!C U soon on your next visit!RegardsPaul

Reviewer:Richard P | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Vacation - Rating 3/5

Enjoyed our stay.Helpful staff.Good food.Bathroom small, but adequate. Good location for our needs.

Response

We\'re glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bell and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visitPaul and Helen

Reviewer:Russell F | Wed 19th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


stay at Bell Boxford- Rating 5/5

A super little place. lovely food and a real bolt hole

Response

We look forward to seeing you soonKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:John W | Sat 8th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


A charming Inn - Rating 5/5

We stopped at the Bell en route to Bournemouth and really enjoyed the experience in a lovely charming inn.The food was excellent including the frèe full English breakfast.Fully recommend it.

Response

Thank you so much for a lovely review. I hope we may have the pleasure of we,coming you again in the near futureKind regardsPaul & Helen

Reviewer:Stephen H | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Newbury Experience - Rating 4/5

Cosy atmosphere friendly staffVery enjoyable experience

Response

Hope to see you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to review us as it really is a fillip for the team to read such nice commentsRegardsPaul

Reviewer:Joanna T | Tue 20th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


WARM WELCOME - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Bell. All staff were very welcoming,helpful and made us feel at home. The room was clean and comfortable, only slight issue was shower cubicle was on small side.Good food at reasonable price. Excellent for dog owners with good walks from the door. Location perfect for West Berkshire, South Oxfordshire. Recommended.

Response

Thanks for takingh the time to write a review We reall appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your stay especially the food1Hope to be able to welcome you back in the note too distant futureKind regardsPaulPS George send a \'woof\' :)

Reviewer:MIKE A | Fri 9th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


The bellat boxford - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable ,friendly and welcoming ,food good,thankyou for making us feel at home in your beautiful pub.

Reviewer:Sara H | Wed 7th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight before Downton - Rating 4/5

An excellent find with attentive staff and comfortable rooms. One minor issue was the calamari which was lightly burned on the outside but still tasty under the crust. Would certainly use them again

Response

Hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Berkshire1 Kind regards Paul

Reviewer:StanM | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


An oasis of calm near Downton Abbey.(Highclere Castle) - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with good facilities and excellent service.

Response

We\\\'re really pleased you enjoyed your stay a the Bell. Thanks for taking the time to review us!Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:TomM | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Quiet, relaxed, good value - Rating 4/5

I arrived in Sunday afternoon before the bankhl holiday to find my room was comfortable, well appointed and the decor to be a refreshing change from the white and somewhat clinical look I had become accustomed to. I was surprised to find that the menu stopped at 1830 (though there would be pizzas available until late), so my evening meal was taken earlier than I would ordinarily. That said it was delicious and a very reasonable price. The pub/hotel was quite quiet and the service was fairly slow, but I enjoyed my stay. The breakfast was very good, although later than I had expected, owing to it being a bank holiday. The price was very good value and I will certainly look to stay at the Bell in the future if in the area.

Reviewer:Katrina D | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Cosy inn - Rating 3/5

Cosy pub, ok room wit small bed and very small bathroom. Madras wss not that good. Food fine, has Italien menu card.

Response

Thanks for the review but Im not sure I understandFood good but not the Madras???We havent had a Madras curry on the menu all summer and we dont have an Italian menu card!.Never mind though, Im glad you enjoyed your stay with usKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:JanT | Sun 28th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Pleasant quirky pub - Rating 3/5

It was a pleasant dog friendly place to stay. The room had a small ensuite shower room with a tiny sink and it needed some things fixing, including the socket that the kettle was plugged into. One bedside light flickered and the switch appeared to be'shorting'. The evening food was adequate but the items we had were clearly pre-prepared in part, rather than cooked fresh to order. One of our desserts, coconut ice cream, was not worth £5.95. Overall, we liked the quirky decor and atmosphere, thought that the whole place had a good level of cleanliness, and found staff helpful and friendly. We had to leave quite early and they were happy to make bacon sandwiches for us to take away rather than us having to wait to eat a full breakfast.

Response

Thanks for your review. Im surprised about your comments on the food however. We prepare cerrtain item ahead of time, of course. The fantastic Salmon fish cake is a good example along with the chilli and ribs. As the ribs are slow cooked for 12 hours we could hardly cook them from scatch to order, instead they are prepared on site and in finished in our ovens. None of the items you ate are \'bought in\' with the exception of the cheesecake you had, which is made especially for us by a professional patissiere.Ive checked out the switch and light but couldnt replicate the fault you have reported but Ill keep my eye on it. Thanks for letting me know. Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distan futureKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Dr. Christine B | Sat 20th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


A break in our trip to Devon - Rating 4/5

On our way up to Devon we had a room for 1 night at "The Bell". Like our first stay in March 2016 the room was fine. However our Sunday lunch was a little bit a disappointment. The stake was well done instead of medium rare and the pork belly was to fat. But in general our stay was ok, so we will come back. It is a nice break in our trip to Devon!

Response

My apologises that we didnt get your steak order correct! We had it logged as M/W. Clearly our fault! The Pork Belly almost by definition is a very tasty, but quite a fatty cut. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit thoughKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Mr. Bob S | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Very impressed - Rating 5/5

We stayed here to attend a wedding. We were very impressed with the food, room and overall helpful staff.

Response

Thank yo for your kind comments. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Bell when you next visit NewburyKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Charon L | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Short stay.....but very welcoming - Rating 5/5

I only stayed from late on a Friday evening until Saturday - but the welcome was great, as were the room and service. All needs were met and I would stay here again - I would and have also recommended highly to friends.

Reviewer:Lynda D | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


stop off on way to High Clere Castle - Rating 4/5

Lovely Pub/B & B . Very pleasant staff/owner. Breakfast very good. Would stay here again

Reviewer:Garry D | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Boxford Stay - Rating 3/5

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by the friendly owner and staff. However the booking did not include our dog,which had been specified when booking our room.Fortunately the hotel was dog-friendly and our dog was accepted.Our stay was comfortable,the food excellent.Sadly our stay was marred by other guests-their raised voices and often slamming doors above our heads, hence the 3 star rating and not 5.

Response

Thank you for your review . Im sorry your stay was marred by other guests though. I pleased to not that you thought the food was excellent! The next time you require accomodation please ask for me personnally and I will do my best to provide a quiet roomKind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Kimm A | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Friendly and comfortable - Rating 5/5

We had a really enjoyable stay (3 nights). The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Dined in the restaurant each evening and the food was brilliant worth waiting for. Would stay there again.

Reviewer:ALAN B | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend break at the Bell - Rating 4/5

Very nice weekend spent at the Bell at Boxford.Comfortable room and good food.Made us feel very welcome and looked after us.Knowledgeable about the area and told us about the very pretty village of Boxford.

Reviewer:Terry H | Tue 5th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Super warm welcome and lovely pub - Rating 4/5

Just to say a big thanks for our lovely stay at the Bell on Sat 2nd July 2016.We came up to Newbury to visit family and were given a super, really warm welcome at the Bell.As we didn’t want to come down too early for breakfast the staff made us a bag of sandwiches delivered direct to our room!We were very touched by this gesture.The Bell is a lovely oldy wordly Pub and we wish you all the best for the future.We hope to stay again next year.

Reviewer:Andrea C | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Like being at home, and they love dogs - Rating 5/5

We spent 3 nights (2 at the beginning of our UK holiday and 1 at the end of it) at the Bell at Boxford, choosing it because of the very handy location right in the middle of Southern England and very near to the M4 (but distant enough for the village to be very peaceful).The Bell was actually an awesome surprise, much more than a simple stopover.When we entered, the place immediately felt warm and welcoming - an awesome pub in country with rooms. We were welcomed by the nice barman who showed us our room, which was small but delightful and charming, and clean. It was equipped with boiler for tea and some biscuits.It was just a pleasure to stay at the intimate downstairs pub having a beer, reading the guidebook and watching the countryside.Breakfast (full English) was good, and they also provide gluten free options.By they way, our dog was very welcome, the very nice staff loved him! They even left a big cookie in the room for him, and more cookies were freely available at the pub.Pricing is good, and can be particularly interesting if you book enough in advance.

Response

It was a delight to meet you and George would like to send a wag! Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Inn on your next visit.Kind regardsPaul & Helen Lavis

Reviewer:Michele B | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


One night stay at The Bell At Boxford Hotel - Rating 5/5

Used as a base to attend a local wedding.The Bell is a warm and friendly beautiful country inn that serves excellent food, and has lovely rooms.

Reviewer:Geoffrey M | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Stay at Bell Lynn Boxford - Rating 4/5

Lovely accommodation friendly staff although noise from outside front of pub kept us awake for awhile but it's to be expected

Reviewer:Peter A | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect and lovely.- Rating 5/5

Comes as advertised !!! Warm welcome and the rooms were a very high standard , excellent choice of wines - we could not have been more well received and booking in advanced very much advised. Surrounding area is absolutely stunning. I my self totally fell in love with George (the pub golden retriever) a very dog friendly pub with lots of warmth and friendliness. Will be back soon :).

Reviewer:Jeanie C | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


peaceful - Rating 3/5

nice and peaceful just what we wanted, food was goo too.

Response

We pleased you enjoyed your stay with us especially the food!Kind regardsPaul

Reviewer:Dorothy D | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Country Retreat

General Policy

Your data is secuerly stored and will not be shared with a third party

Array

We are here to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If you have any special requirements please let us know in advance of your arrival if possible. It is always best to reserve a table should you wish to eat with us as we are unable to guarantee availability and times unless we know.
We do not share your information with any third party

General Policy

Cancellation Policy:No charge is made if cancelled before noon 48hrs before the date of your date of arrival. We always endeavor to resell your room. If we are unable to resell,however, the charge of the whole booking will be processed accordingly
25 and 26th Dec The Inn is closed for Food and Beverage. No breakfast is available over this period unless by prior arrangement